For Delhi Metro commuters, there’s exciting news on the horizon. The Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) officials announced on Sunday that the Green Line will be extended from Inderlok to Indraprastha, making the New Delhi Metro Station a triple interchange hub.

This new 12.37-kilometer-long Inderlok-Indraprastha corridor will extend the already operational Brigadier Hoshiar Singh-Inderlok Green Line corridor (28.78 kilometers).

New Delhi Station: Triple Interchange Facility

With this new extension, the New Delhi Metro Station will become a crucial interchange point for three lines: Yellow, Orange (Airport Line), and Green. This development will allow passengers to easily switch between these three major lines at a single location, significantly enhancing the convenience of their travel.

Improved Connectivity Across the City

This extension is set to improve connectivity throughout the city. Passengers from areas like Bahadurgarh and parts of West Delhi, including Nangloi, Rajdhani Park, and Udyog Nagar, will now be able to travel directly to the New Delhi Railway Station, which is adjacent to the New Delhi Metro Station. This will greatly facilitate commuters and make their journeys more seamless.


Underground Extension

The new extension of the Green Line will be underground, making access to the New Delhi Station even more convenient. This underground passage is expected to reduce congestion near the station, as more people will likely choose to travel by metro instead of using the roads. Currently, Kashmere Gate is the only triple interchange station in the Delhi Metro network, where the Yellow, Red, and Violet lines intersect.

Phase Four Expansion

Under Phase Four, Delhi Metro is constructing approximately 86 kilometers of new lines. These new sections include Janakpuri West-RK Ashram Marg (Violet), Majlis Park-Maujpur (Pink), and Aerocity-Tughlakabad (Golden). More than 50 percent of the work on these sections has already been completed.

New Approvals

Earlier this year, two new corridors—Inderlok-Indraprastha and Saket G Block-Lajpat Nagar—were also approved. DMRC is currently working on land acquisition and obtaining forest clearances from agencies like DDA, CPWD, and PWD.

Providing most accurate Delhi NCR, National and Stock Market, Automobile stuffs since 2014. Experience in Journalism with 12 Years and Awarded by 4 Journalism HONORS in career. Putting best effort to provide most reliable news point.